Can I solve this with Elmer

General discussion about Elmer
kmeld

Can I solve this with Elmer

Post by kmeld »

Hi,
I am new to elmer (found it only few days ago) so I still have no experience. I havewer have some experience with FEM.
Programs that I had used till now do not alow me to solve problem I now have in the way I want, so I would to ask you if this will be possible with elmer.

The thing is (not exactly my case but wuite the same still easyer to explain):
1) I have two elements: cylinder and pipe, cylinder is inside the pipe touching iner surface, dimetre of the cylinder is smaler then iner dimeter of the pipe
2) this can be 2d or 3d (no diference since they are wery long)
3) Cylinder is steel and pipe is steel
4) Cylinder is pusched with volume force (8489 * gravity) against the pipe wall

What I need is to solve the problem (linear elasticity) but NON linear contact (adaptive mash to simulate real deformation of both elements during contact)

Can this be done with elmer (preferably in easy to understand way)?

Regards
Cris
raback
Site Admin
Antispam: Yes

Re: Can I solve this with Elmer

Post by raback »

Hi, Unfortunately not. The little work on contact models has been experimental and limited in functionality. -Peter
kmeld

Post by kmeld »

OK so straihgt awey it is not possible but....

I was trying to solve this (not exactly this but similar [easier to model] )problem in softwear I know beter and come up with an folowing idea.
For previously described case it would be as follows:
1) model pipe and cylinder but not touching (littlr distance)
2) all remining space in the pipe model as "soft" material (small/very small Yang Module, Poissson ratio =0) devided in small radial segments.
3) constrains: each "soft" segment would be "fixed in such a way that it could ony deform propendicoulary to pipe surface.