How to calculate the mutual inductance of a coil pair

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
millim
Antispam: Yes

How to calculate the mutual inductance of a coil pair

Post by millim »

Hi team,

I am completely new to Elmer and my first impression of the tool is impressive having all the great features of (combined) multiphysics solvers.

Before I dig deep into the huge configuration space of Elmer, I am asking the community if the modeling of the mutual inductance of a air coupled coil is feasible with Elmer. So I am about to use the magnetostatic solver for this problem, right?

My question is how I have to setup the boundary conditions, the coil port definitions, the extraction of the H-field, and how I can get the mutual inductance or mutual coupling value out of the simulator?

regards
millim
millim

Re: How to calculate the mutual inductance of a coil pair

Post by millim »

Hello,

this time I have refined my problem. See the attached Zip file.

Regards
millim
Attachments
Elmer.zip
(577.9 KiB) Downloaded 563 times
mzenker

Post by mzenker »

Hi,

I have never used the magnetistatic solver before, but the Models Manual and the tutorial about induction heating may give you more information and a starting point.

HTH,

Matthias
raback
Site Admin

Post by raback »

Hi Millim

The first problem I see is that you intend to make just the mesh for the conductors. Also the air needs a mesh. See the nice work by "madstamm" for example. See

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2110&p=6388&hilit=whitney#p6388

The mutual inductance may require a new integral for \Psi_ij. I don't immediately know the best method. The current I would compute with the "Calculate loads" + "boundary sum" method.

-Peter
millim

Post by millim »

Hi Peter,