"ExecSolver" Subroutine

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
udeng85

"ExecSolver" Subroutine

Post by udeng85 »

Hi all Elmer User,

I am a newbie in the ElmerSolver's coding and would like to pose a question regarding subroutine "SingleSolver" in MainUtils.f90. In subroutine "SingleSolver", it calls another subroutine called "ExecSolver". I've browsed through all the files in Elmer but still unable to locate the subroutine for this "ExecSolver" or executesolver. This leaves me with a dead end to my flowchart. From my understanding, "SingleSolver" as well as "ExecSolver" subroutine is usually needed to solve problems like e.g. heateq. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks you.

-Aizat-
Juha
Site Admin

Re: "ExecSolver" Subroutine

Post by Juha »

Hi,

ElmerSolver uses dynamic loading (dlopen() for unix/linux/etc, LoadLibrary() for windows) of
specific equation solvers, boundary condition user functions, etc. This interface is not
usually available directly from Fortran, hence the c-interfaces in Load.c. The ExecSolver-routine
is an example. They are really just stubs for calling fortran procedures given the memory address
of the procedure ...

Regards, Juha
udeng85

Post by udeng85 »

Hi Juha and all Elmer User,

How do I switch between Body 1(say fluid) and Body 2(structure) in the coding of Elmer. I've tried using "CASE (Element % BodyId)" and if the bodyid = 1, it's fluid? Is this correct?

-Aizat-
raback
Site Admin
Antispam: Yes

Post by raback »

Hi

Body is a geometric entity and it has definitions for equation - a physical entity - which includes a list of active solvers.
In coding things are made easier by that each solver has the following fields

Code: Select all

Solver % NumberOfActiveElements
Solver % Elements()
and you just loop over them to get, for example

Element => Solver % ActiveElements(i)
-Peter
udeng85

Post by udeng85 »

Hi peter,

Thanks a lot for a prompt answer, but I do have a couple more questions: