problem import.inp file from abaqus in elmer

Mesh generators, CAD programs, and other tools
gix
Antispam: Yes

problem import.inp file from abaqus in elmer

Post by gix »

Hi team,
I'm really new to elmer and with it to elmergrid.
I'm using an abaqus file.inp
I tried everything (I think) to get this mesh in Elmer
As I understood the command line parameters of elmergrid- I have to type

elmergrid 5 2 test.inp -autoclean

to translate my .inp-file to .mesh.* so I can use my mesh with elmer.
But the only output I get from elmergrid is a distorced mesh.....
I've tried everything but I always get distorted meshes.
I don't send the zip file because it's 2.28 mb
raback
Site Admin

Re: problem import.inp file from abaqus in elmer

Post by raback »

Hi

The problem with Abaqus format is that the scripting language is versatile and not at least freely documented as a mesh standard. Therefore the parser has been written in reverse engineering by looking at a number of mesh files and ensuring that they are read ok. Now the problem is that different preprocessors/setups write different style of inp files so having the code bullet proof is problematic.

So this probably requires some coding. It would help if you could squeeze your problem to be somewhat smaller. Then we could hopefully try to enhance the code in the near future.

-Peter
Iutech

Post by Iutech »

I want to advise someone in my faculty (who couldn't access her Abaqus work due to a failure of the License Server) to try Elmer instead.
Obviously it will be easier if she person will not lose her Abaqus work entirely.

I've looked at the file format used by Elmer and the file formats to which Abaqus can export and I don't see a correspondence between the two that would allow for easy transfer of the Abaqus work ?

Is there a solution ? Especially since the message that said that there is not dates from 2018...