Magnetism

General discussion about Elmer
goosst

Magnetism

Post by goosst »

Hi,

I'm used of using FEMM http://www.femm.info/ for doing magnetic 2D and axisymmetric simulations. But now I'm looking for a suitable program that has the ability of doing 3D simulations. So I am very very new to Elmer :-) .

I have the impression that magnetism is not something standard available in Elmer.
So I'm wondering if somebody already simulated some magnetic things in elmer.
For example: a reluctance motor, permanent magnets etc.

Thanks,
madstamm

Re: Magnetism

Post by madstamm »

Hello Goost

Magentism does indeed seem to be a little-used package.
The forums, in this regard at least, are quiet.

I'm working on modeling a reluctance motor in 3D, and am convinced that it will work. There are problems, however, it is certainly not like using a commercial package with regards to electromagnetism.

magnetodynamics solver is available only with the latest release of elmer
- it does seem to reliably converge at this time, but there are a few non-GUI steps involved right now
- it is not officially integrated into the package (GUI, keywords, etc). I made some efforts in this direction, so let me know if you are interested.....
- probably only useful right now if you are at least mildly linux-friendly, or willing to get so

in general: making FEM-useful 3D models without commercial CAD software is quite tricky.
getting into the freeware tools takes time.

Bottom line (my opinion, of course)
if you have lots of time to allocate (student), it's worth the effort - you will learn a lot, probably get your work done, and advance the tool (elmer) in the process. If you are worried about sales next quarter, you're better off dropping USD10k+ on a commercial package.

regards
Mike
goosst

Post by goosst »

Hello Mike,

Of course I'm interested in what you are doing in elmer for magnetism.