Disk deflection calculation

The graphical user interface of Elmer
XHZhu
Antispam: Yes

Disk deflection calculation

Post by XHZhu »

Hi, I'm a newbie to FEM and Elmer, fascinated by the clean and powerful solver.
I'm working on simulating the deformation of a disk under certain force fields.
Currently, I followed tutorial 9 on the ElmerGUI tutorials to obtain the deflection of a linear plate. I successfully modify the plate shape to a disk and the material for my project. However, I have several questions regarding the solver:
1. Can I apply arbitrary forces/pressures to the disk? I.e., forces in arbitrary directions and locations, and how can I achieve this? Also, I tried to use the deflection tab in "body forces", do these constraints mean apply certain deflections on specific points?
2. From the ParaView, I can observe the deflections' magnitude and XYZ plots, I guess XYZ plots represent deformations' directions and magnitude means deformation distance. Is this correct?
3. I'm trying to use the multiline expressions to define conditions, are there any docs that illustrate the usage?

Many thanks if anyone could give some advice :)
mika

Re: Disk deflection calculation

Post by mika »

Some comments:

1. The plate solver (the module SMITC) doesn't model the stretching of the mid-surface (the bending is only considered) and therefore one may apply a distributed normal load only. The shell solver can model the bending and stretching effects simultaneously and would allow to handle more general (edge) loads.

2. In the case of the plate solver the magnitude of the solution within ParaView is not meaningful, since the components of the solution are not really components of the same vector (the first [X] is the normal displacement, while the other two represent small rotations). ParaView thus makes a misinterpretation of the three components when computing the magnitude.

-- Mika
XHZhu

Post by XHZhu »

Hi Mika,