Toy hierarchical problem

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
sspickle
Antispam: Yes

Toy hierarchical problem

Post by sspickle »

I'm just learning Elmer and I want to start with a simple problem. I'd like to learn how to handle FEM EMAG calculations related to PCB traces, cross talk, and such. I tried to modify the "End Windings" example from Elmer-Elmag:

https://github.com/ElmerCSC/elmer-elmag ... ndWindings

But the solution I get for static current is "trivially zero". I was hoping to solve for the static current in a toy PCB trace (copper solid with varying cross section) and then use that as a source in determining the DC magnetic field in the surrounding larger (air) box. I did get a static current solution without the magnetic field by setting the potential at one end of the trace and then setting the current density into and out of the "end" boundaries.

Can I accomplish the same thing in this case? Any insights would be appreciated!

See geo/sif files attached. I meshed in GMSH and then used "ElmerGrid 14 2" to prepare for ElmerSolver.

thansk!
-steve
Attachments
pcb_trace_test.zip
(3.55 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
sspickle

Re: Toy hierarchical problem

Post by sspickle »

Is there any other information I could provide that would be helpful to get me pointed in the right direction?

Or does this question even make sense?

I did consider trying Coil Solver, but it wasn't clear that I could set it up to get the result I need.

thanks,
-steve
kevinarden

Post by kevinarden »

These are the names of the bodies and boundaries in your mesh
! ----- names for bodies -----
$ body = 1
$ enclosure = 2
! ----- names for boundaries -----
$ inlet = 1
$ outlet = 2
$ walls = 3
$ left_face = 4
$ front_face = 5
$ right_face = 6
$ back_face = 7
$ top_face = 8
$ bottom_face = 9

So the BCs do not apply to anything because nothing is named "plus"
Boundary Condition 1
Name = "plus"
Current Density = 5000.0
AV = Real 5
AV {e} = real 0
Save Scalars = Logical True