Simulating 3D printed parts

General discussion about Elmer
justanotherdave
Antispam: Yes

Simulating 3D printed parts

Post by justanotherdave »

Hello everyone:

As this is my first message in this forum and I haven’t found a place where new members should introduce themselves, I’ll start doing so here. I’m an electronics engineer who works as a researcher. As a consequence, Elmer has become an incredibly useful tool for my work (and for my personal projects) thanks to its open source nature (being able to study its code is great for understanding how simulations work).

Recently I saw a video where they show ANSYS capabilities for simulating 3d printed parts. Unluckily, they didn’t explain how those parts were homogenized, so I’m trying to recreate that using Elmer. According to some papers (I’ll edit this message to cite them), it might be possible to consider the part isotropic as long as deformations are kept within the elastic deformation range, which might be what ANSYS does (I haven’t tested it as I don’t have access to that software).

However, I was thinking about the possibility of simplifying the problem by dividing it. The exterior of the piece could be simulated as a shell while the interior could be homogenized using a similar technique as the ones used for simulating composite materials (I took a subject on that while I was at university).

Is that possible in Elmer? Have you successfully simulated 3d printed parts using it?
raback
Site Admin

Re: Simulating 3D printed parts

Post by raback »

There was sometimes an EU initiative where we would have used Elmer to develop models for 3D printing. Unfortunately this project didn't fly.