Tips and tricks!?

General discussion about Elmer
Saint
Antispam: Yes

Tips and tricks!?

Post by Saint »

Hello again,
I hope you don't mind me posting a new topic.

In the past, when I was using my old software on win7 and I had different tricks to boost the simulation or reduce the unnecessary task of the windows.
Now, I wonder if you have the same process?
If you are using windows, (preferably win 10), :?: What do you do with heavy simulations?

:?: Do you kill any service or process ? (in win 7, I would kill almost every extra service, even the main explore.exe, and I would set the priority of my simulation/solver/software to high). How about win 10? (Im new with it)

:?: how about the internal setting of Elmer? is there a way to boost the speed, or even opposite, to reduce the pressure/speed, to prevent it from crashing?

:?: My laptop has multiple cores, and its RAM and graphic is not bad, but a friend of mine which is using the same laptop, but lower model (cpu,ram...) has no problem with his simulations with ansys, I think he is effectively using more cores in his simulations.
I saw a parallel simulation option; but to be frank, I just hoped to work with it without reading about it first and I failed :cry:

:?: Also, about the solver detail, not only the type, but even the subcategory of the solver: CG. SCG, BIGCGstabl ...
I don't dare to ask for guidance about them, since I know they are a complex world by themselves. But generally speaking, how effective they are in convergence and simulation speed; is there a prefered stup, for slowing down or speeding up the simulation ?

Wish you sunshiny days,
Saint

Re: Tips and tricks!?

Post by Saint »

honestly, I was expecting a heated conversation for this topic. I believe it is safe to assume most people are using linux, therefore no one has any points to add.

Maybe, administrators might want to delete this topic; since there is no useful post in it.
raback
Site Admin

Post by raback »

Hi