piezoelectric/magnetostriction solvers?

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
wab41
Antispam: Yes

piezoelectric/magnetostriction solvers?

Post by wab41 »

Hello All,

I am a first year PhD student working on some finite element modelling as part of my project. I am quite new to FEM in general but have seen quite a few papers referencing Elmer and it seems like a very versatile tool so thought I would come here to see if it was possible to use for my specific case too.

The materials I am looking in to are piezoelectric and magnetostrictive - so my first question would be whether these effects can be implemented using the current version of the Elmer software, and if so, is there documentation showing a breakdown of the computations/calculations? I think I have seen that there is a piezo section within the electrostatics solver, however, I wanted to confirm how it was implemented before using it so that I could understand what was going on. If I am not mistaken, the way it is done uses a forward or hierarchical coupling method (please correct me if I'm wrong) and I was wondering how this would translate from the constitutive equations that describe the piezoelectric effect. Most methods I have seen require finding the weak form of the PDEs, however, I was wondering if this forward-coupling intrinsically follows this or if there is some other (mathematical) description? Admittedly, however, I have not used Fortran before so I may be a little bit slower on the uptake than I would like when looking at the code.

If the method already implemented is indeed valid for the piezoelectric material in my case then I was wondering if a similar method could be used for magnetostriction? In this case coupling the magnetic and mechanical fields.