Sign of Lorentz force

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
kevinarden
Posts: 1512
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by kevinarden »

Yes, there is a restart capability in Elmer.

See chapter 3 of the solver manual

https://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physic ... Manual.pdf
Andrea_P
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Mar 2021, 18:39
Antispam: Yes
Location: POLYTHECNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by Andrea_P »

kevinarden wrote: 08 Jul 2021, 17:13 Yes, there is a restart capability in Elmer.

See chapter 3 of the solver manual

https://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physic ... Manual.pdf
Hence, should I have done it since I defined the case.sif, right? Could I change the case.sif during the running?
-Andrea
POLYTECHNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN-DIMEAS
kevinarden
Posts: 1512
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by kevinarden »

Can't change the sif during the run. Have to define the restart file prior to doing the run.
Andrea_P
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Mar 2021, 18:39
Antispam: Yes
Location: POLYTHECNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by Andrea_P »

kevinarden wrote: 08 Jul 2021, 12:39 1. Get more RAM
2. Reduce the problem size
3. Set up/increase the size of a swap file (disk space used as RAM)
Sorry if I bother you again, what is the third point? How may I get it?
-Andrea
POLYTECHNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN-DIMEAS
kevinarden
Posts: 1512
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by kevinarden »

Andrea_P
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Mar 2021, 18:39
Antispam: Yes
Location: POLYTHECNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by Andrea_P »

kevinarden wrote: 08 Jul 2021, 17:13 Yes, there is a restart capability in Elmer.

See chapter 3 of the solver manual

https://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physic ... Manual.pdf
I have read that chapter, but Elmer keeps on giving an error. I attached case.sif and output. According to the case.sif, if, for instance, my simulation stops at 800/1000 time steps, can I restart it from that time step with the same results already obtained as for?
-Andrea
Attachments
output.txt
(1.5 KiB) Downloaded 86 times
case(3).sif
(6.51 KiB) Downloaded 88 times
POLYTECHNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN-DIMEAS
kevinarden
Posts: 1512
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by kevinarden »

If the restart file was written for step 800 then you can restart from 800, if however it stopped during 800 before the restart data was written then you would have to restart from 799 or the lasted saved step in the restart file.

As far as the error Elmer is looking for a mesh named
/nobackup/st/palmarini/CASO/OSCILLAZIONI/CON

but you told it the mesh was in
Mesh DB "/nobackup/st/palmarini/CASO OSCILLAZIONI/CON CAMPO MAGNETICO/PROFILO TECHNICAL NOTES/DOMINIO_RIDOTTO_B=1" "mesh"

it appears it does not like blanks in the file name. Probably does not like the = sign either. I would replace these with _
Andrea_P
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Mar 2021, 18:39
Antispam: Yes
Location: POLYTHECNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by Andrea_P »

kevinarden wrote: 09 Jul 2021, 13:46 If the restart file was written for step 800 then you can restart from 800, if however it stopped during 800 before the restart data was written then you would have to restart from 799 or the lasted saved step in the restart file.

As far as the error Elmer is looking for a mesh named
/nobackup/st/palmarini/CASO/OSCILLAZIONI/CON

but you told it the mesh was in
Mesh DB "/nobackup/st/palmarini/CASO OSCILLAZIONI/CON CAMPO MAGNETICO/PROFILO TECHNICAL NOTES/DOMINIO_RIDOTTO_B=1" "mesh"

it appears it does not like blanks in the file name. Probably does not like the = sign either. I would replace these with _
Now, I fixed the blanks spaces, bu it gave me always the same error.
-Andrea
Attachments
output.txt
(3.67 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
case.sif
(6.45 KiB) Downloaded 88 times
POLYTECHNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN-DIMEAS
kevinarden
Posts: 1512
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by kevinarden »

Mesh DB "/nobackup/st/palmarini/DOMINIO_RIDOTTO_B=1" "mesh"

It may not like the =
Andrea_P
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Mar 2021, 18:39
Antispam: Yes
Location: POLYTHECNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN

Re: Sign of Lorentz force

Post by Andrea_P »

kevinarden wrote: 09 Jul 2021, 15:19 Mesh DB "/nobackup/st/palmarini/DOMINIO_RIDOTTO_B=1" "mesh"

It may not like the =
Nothing again. I attached the mesh that I am using. Could you try to run it please? Because, I don't understand what I am wronging. https://we.tl/t-drNNRZxPlc
Thanks and regards
Andrea
Attachments
case.sif
(6.45 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
POLYTECHNIC UNIVERSITY OF TURIN-DIMEAS
Post Reply