Problems with bending beam example

The graphical user interface of Elmer
azirbel

Problems with bending beam example

Post by azirbel »

Hi,

I'm new to Elmer and am stuck on a problem. My goal is to simulate the bending of an elastic beam under different forces. With a 3D model I am getting very unrealistic deflection (but that's another story) - so I'm trying to modify the bending_beam example here:

http://www.csc.fi/english/pages/elmer/e ... /elastbeam

So that I can simulate again with different forces and elasticity. However, though the part imports, the solver won't run for me with the given .sif file.

This may be a simple problem I am overlooking; is someone able to try this and see if it works for them, or tell me where my mistake is? I just want to recreate the example from the given input files.

Thanks in advance!
raback
Site Admin
Antispam: Yes

Re: Problems with bending beam example

Post by raback »

This should work. Just first copy the .sif and .grd file to your working directory.

Code: Select all

ElmerGrid 1 2 beam2d.grd
ElmerSolver elast_2d.sif
If it complains about not finding the ELMERSOLVER_STARTINFO (in Windows) you have to create one with the name of the command file in it. With mingw (and all *unix) this works.

Code: Select all

echo 'elast2d_sif' > ELMERSOLVER_STARTINFO
ElmerSolver
-Peter
azirbel

Post by azirbel »

Thanks for the quick reply! Very helpful, and it worked perfectly.

I have a couple more questions about how to re-create the example. Hopefully they are fairly easy as well.

1. Curiosity - why doesn't ElmerGUI work with these inputs?
2. How can I see data about my output after running the solver? I end up with an 83MB file called data3d.ep, but haven't been able to do anything with it.
3. How can I make a differently shaped beam so I can test that one out as well?

I have been working on this and experimenting a lot, but often with no results, so I really appreciate your answers!

Thanks-
Alex
raback
Site Admin