Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

General discussion about Elmer
Post Reply
einatlev
Posts: 47
Joined: 13 Jan 2010, 06:54

Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

Post by einatlev »

Hello
I would like to impose a certain temperature field (parabolic) on my entire mesh (a 2D channel), as oppose to any specific wall. What is the way to do this?
Thanks!
Einat
raback
Site Admin
Posts: 4832
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

Post by raback »

Hi

Do you still solve the eqution for the temperature. If yes, then you could set Dirichlet conditions for the body. This is achieved by setting, for example

Code: Select all

Body Force 1
  Temperature = Variable Coordinate 2
     Real MATC "a*tx*tx+b*tx+c"
End
Or if you do not solve for the temperature you could still declare it in appropriate solver section by

Code: Select all

  Exported Variable 1 = Temperature
and the use the "Initial Condition" section similarly as above.

-Peter
einatlev
Posts: 47
Joined: 13 Jan 2010, 06:54

Re: Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

Post by einatlev »

Thanks!
At the moment I am still solving for the temperature, but might change it to save time.
I did not fully understand the second option you mentioned -- is the "exported variable" part going in the Navier-Stokes solver?
thanks again,
Einat
raback
Site Admin
Posts: 4832
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

Post by raback »

Hi

The "Exported Variable i" is a statement by which you can in every field solver prescribe other fields that are defined where the primary variable is. So you don't see that option in FlowSolver but as it is a generic library functionality.

-Peter
einatlev
Posts: 47
Joined: 13 Jan 2010, 06:54

Re: Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

Post by einatlev »

Hello again
I would like to impose a temperature field obtained from a previous simulation as a boundary condition to my new model. E.g. initial model was run to steady state with iso-viscous material; now I want to change the viscosity to be temperature-dependent. How do I load the temperature field from a file? how do I impose the field as a BC? I will not be solving for the temperature, just the velocity/pressure.
Thanks!
Juha
Site Admin
Posts: 357
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 15:11

Re: Imposing a temperature field on entire mesh

Post by Juha »

Hi,

in the simulation section write

Code: Select all

Restart File = "file.dat"
Restart Position = 0 ! 0 means last
assuming you have used the "Output File=file.dat" option in the previous run.
You should then have the "Temperature" as a variable as usual.
Regards, Juha
Post Reply