Import .geo or .msh file

Mesh generators, CAD programs, and other tools
VVS
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Aug 2013, 17:43
Antispam: Yes

Import .geo or .msh file

Post by VVS » 30 Aug 2013, 18:01

Hi,

I have created a cone geometry in gmsh and now I would like to import it into Elmer.
How do I do it?

thank you for your help
VVS

NickR7
Posts: 18
Joined: 29 Jul 2013, 18:03
Antispam: Yes

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by NickR7 » 30 Aug 2013, 18:04

Mesh it in gmsh -> cone.msh

Then from the command line

ElmerGrid 14 2 cone.msh -autoclean

Type 'ElmerGrid' from the command line to see a explaination of what the numbers mean and different options of ElmerGrid.

VVS
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Aug 2013, 17:43
Antispam: Yes

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by VVS » 03 Sep 2013, 13:51

Hi,

Thank you for your help. But I think something is wrong.
When I say load mesh it doesn't display the mesh.
The log window shows the following:

Loading from directory C:/Elmer7/bin/cone
Loading elmer mesh files
Summary:
Nodes: 12937
Point elements: 0
Edge elements: 0
Surface elements: 0
Volume elements: 63212
Found 0 edges on boundary
Bcs/materials on surface elements: 0
Bcs/materials on edge elements: 0
Bcs/materials on point elements: 0
Generating lists to display
Generated 2 lists
Ready

mzenker
Posts: 1902
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 11:49
Location: Germany

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by mzenker » 03 Sep 2013, 14:12

Hi,

your mesh seems to have no faces, just a volume. You can do View->Volume Mesh in ElmerGUI to see the volume mesh. If you need the faces also (they are surely there in gmsh, otherwise you cannot make the volume), you have to make sure that either all parts you need are marked as physical, or that "save all (ignore physical groups)" is checked when saving the mesh.

HTH,

Matthias

VVS
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Aug 2013, 17:43
Antispam: Yes

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by VVS » 03 Sep 2013, 19:10

Thanks for your reply Matthias. It works now.

I have another doubt:

I want to simulate the heat distribution inside a pippette.
So I have created a cone-mesh in gmsh with a certain thickness.
How can I make sure that I will have two separate bodies: The inside of the pippete filled with a fluid and the edge.

thank you

mzenker
Posts: 1902
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 11:49
Location: Germany

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by mzenker » 04 Sep 2013, 09:37

Hi,

in gmsh, create a surface (or several ones) which closes the pipette so that you can create a volume inside the pipette. Then mesh that one.

HTH,

Matthias

VVS
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Aug 2013, 17:43
Antispam: Yes

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by VVS » 04 Sep 2013, 13:26

Hi Matthias,

Thank you for your help.
But I am facing a problem now.

I get the following error message:
Loading user function library: [HeatSolve]...[HeatSolver_Init0]
ERROR:: LoadMesh: Body id larger than the number of of bodies in sif file!

I created surfaces as the edges of the pipette. And I created a Volume element which uses the surfaces as the boundaries.
Then I meshed it in 3D.


thanks again
VVS

mzenker
Posts: 1902
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 11:49
Location: Germany

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by mzenker » 04 Sep 2013, 13:53

Hi,

it seems like you changed the mesh file without changing the sif file. Difficult to say more without knowing what exactly you have been doing. Do you use ElmerGUI? then you have to revisit the entries in the Model menue and make sure that the new body is taken account of. And don't forget to sif->generate and save project before you start the solver.

HTH,

Matthias

VVS
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Aug 2013, 17:43
Antispam: Yes

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by VVS » 04 Sep 2013, 14:55

Hey,

It seems to working now. But for some reason i get a hollow cone, although I used 3D Mesh in gmsh. So if I want to see what is going on in the inside of the cone by slicing it it just appears as a hollow cone and not a filled cone.

thanks
VVS

mzenker
Posts: 1902
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 11:49
Location: Germany

Re: Import .geo or .msh file

Post by mzenker » 04 Sep 2013, 15:31

Hi,

which viewer do you use? If it is ElmerPost, try to activate isosurfaces.
Alternatively, use ResultOutputSolver with binary vtu format, use ParaView and make a slice or clip there.

HTH,

Matthias

Post Reply