CAD software

Mesh generators, CAD programs, and other tools
musquida
Antispam: Yes

CAD software

Post by musquida »

Which CAD software would I use for Custom Wheel design for Automotive? It must be used friendly. I have never used CAD before so something easy would be great. Thanks for the help.
Last edited by musquida on 09 Sep 2011, 09:11, edited 1 time in total.
studioa

Re: CAD software

Post by studioa »

If you are looking for Open Source try FreeCAD, then export to gmsh, Salome, EnGrid, Discretizer, ELMER, ...

You can generate 2D production drawings with DraftSight by Dassault Systemes (it is freeware, runs on Windows, MacOS X and Linux).

Or going Open Source for 2D you can use LibreCAD/QCAD.

Also, though it is not CAD, you can use Blender, but the learning curve is steep as the interface is not common to other packages.

In Blender 2.49 you can install the two scripts that are bundled with EnGrid and export your meshes as .gmsh or direct to .begc (EnGrid).

.gmsh files generated in Blender are imported really nice in Elmer, similarly .begc are imported very well in EnGrid 1.2/1.3
moe69

Post by moe69 »

Hi there,

i am totaly new to Elmer and i got several questions.

1. I want to use FreeCad to design 3d models with multiple bodies. When i save my model, what kind of file typ should i use?
2. I need a software to generate a mesh. Which software is able to save a mesh with multiple bodies to open it in Elmer? What kind of file typ is it?

For example:

I want to simulate heat extension of two different materials, i.e. iron and aluminium. (like a bimetal stripe) - so those two materials will start to bend.

Is this possible to simulate in Elmer?
raback
Site Admin

Post by raback »

Hi

Simulation of the case should be possible. For meshing you could have a look at gmsh and netgen, for example.

-Peter
mzenker

Post by mzenker »