How do I get from a .igs to a mesh file format for Elmer?

Mesh generators, CAD programs, and other tools
agdahdouh
Antispam: Yes

How do I get from a .igs to a mesh file format for Elmer?

Post by agdahdouh »

Hi all,

I'm new at this forum, so I'm sorry if this is a repost, I tried to search for it, and couldn't find an answer.

I'm a university student, and in my classes we use ProEngineer. I know that ProEngineer can save their files as .igs formatted files for use by other analysis programs.

My question is, how do I get ProEngineer files, or .igs files into a compatible file or mesh formatted file to use for analysis.

Any links, tips, and walk throughs would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
raback
Site Admin
Antispam: Yes

Re: How do I get from a .igs to a mesh file format for Elmer?

Post by raback »

Hi, You could try Gmsh which eats .igs and writes .msh that may be opened by Elmer tools. -Peter
mzenker

Post by mzenker »

If it doesn't work well with igs, try to save your geometry in step format. gmsh often handles step better than igs.

Matthias
pamakela

Post by pamakela »

If the case is 3D, then exporting in STEP format is in my opinion the best and ElmerGUI can perform the meshing directly. If on the other hand the case is 2D, then export in IGES and perform meshing in Gmsh.
mzenker

Post by mzenker »

Hi,

I just have tried to mesh a 3D STEP geometry in Elmer. Opening it with ElmerGUI and selecting mesh->remesh resulted in a crash. Is this supposed to work? I would be most interested in a possibility to mesh a 3D geometry directly in Elmer, as in gmsh there are many problems with overlapping faces.
As for IGES and gmsh, I have made the experience that the IGES export was not handled correctly in gmsh, whereas the STEP export was represented correctly.

Matthias
pamakela

Post by pamakela »