Elmer output to Gmsh

Post processing utility for Elmer
Post Reply
ams
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Mar 2013, 17:51
Antispam: Yes

Elmer output to Gmsh

Post by ams »

Hi,

I have just started working with ELMER, and I have problem writing my output to gmsh format. It works fine for scalar (e.g. pressure), but I get an error message, when trying to write out for instance the velocity (a vector). When looking into the *.result file I can see that the velocity data is written to that file.

This is what I write in the Sif:

Code: Select all

Solver 3 
  Exec Solver = After TimeStep
  Exec Interval = 1
  Equation = "result output"
  Procedure = "ResultOutputSolve" "ResultOutputSolver"
  Output File Name = String "teterousse_$Step".msh"
  Output Format = String gmsh
  Vector Field 1 = String velocity
End
This is the error message:
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind: Requested property: [Name], not found
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind: Requested property: [Name], not found
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind: Requested property: [Name], not found
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: ListFind: Requested property: [Name], not found
WARNING:: ListFind:
WARNING:: GsmhOutputSolver: Variable not present: velocity
I hope you can help me!

-Anne
raback
Site Admin
Posts: 4812
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Elmer output to Gmsh

Post by raback »

Hi Anne

The velocity might not be present as a vector. Perhaps you could declear you N-S variable with

Code: Select all

Variable = FlowSolution[Velocity:3 Pressure:1]
(this is in 3D, in 2D change 3->2).

This way of declearing fields is just some years old so if you have older command files they may be using different conventions.

-Peter
ams
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Mar 2013, 17:51
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer output to Gmsh

Post by ams »

Hi Peter

Thanks!

I will try that!

-Anne
raback
Site Admin
Posts: 4812
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Elmer output to Gmsh

Post by raback »

Hi, The fact that "Name" cannot be found is, by the way, a separate problem. Elmer just wants to name the physical entities and you haven't provided names for all in .sif file. So now it uses "Body i" and "Boundary Condition i" as default names if none given. Fix is in svn since 5 minutes. -Peter
Post Reply