How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

General discussion about Elmer
Post Reply
joni
Posts: 21
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 15:05
Antispam: Yes

How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by joni » 05 Mar 2019, 14:17

So groups work's for body as face as well lines.

But could not get Noadal, Vertex, Point load postition
to defined Salomè and then trough .unv to ElmerGUI
for cheking and then to ElmerSolver!!!

How to define Nodal load as ,... from geometry
to Mesh groups?

joni
Posts: 21
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 15:05
Antispam: Yes

Re: How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by joni » 05 Mar 2019, 18:35

At 2d line load/boundary transfers to Elmer but
at 3d look's like that only face are regonized as boundaryes,...

Is it so ?

So only option i found is:
elmergrid

-boundbound Integer[3]
Sometimes the geometry does not include all the necessary boundary conditions. Then this inline
parameter may be used to define a new boundary (first parameter) on the interval of two already
existing boundaries. This makes it possible to define lines or even single points in 3D geometry that
has only surfaces defined.

so, if,...
I do elmergrid first and get boundary indexes I can run
elmergrid whit elmernative mesh whit -boundbound Integer[3]
is it -boundbound [what so evere never used] [face1 id] [face 2]

basically I have to group at salome all surfaces to individual
groups so I can afterwards use them,.... ???

Is this only way ?

I will try tomorrow!

joni
Posts: 21
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 15:05
Antispam: Yes

Re: How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by joni » 06 Mar 2019, 10:39

I tried:

624 elmergrid 2 2 V4PinPress -boundbound 3 1 2
625 ElmerGrid 2 2 V4PinPress -boundbound 3 1 2
626 cat V4PinPress/entities.sif
627 ElmerGrid 8 2 V4PinPress.unv -autoclean
628 cat V4PinPress/entities.sif
629 ElmerGrid 8 2 V4PinPress.unv -autoclean
630 cat V4PinPress/entities.sif
631 ElmerGrid 2 2 V4PinPress -boundbound 5 2 3
632 cat V4PinPress/entities.sif
633 ElmerGrid 2 2 V4PinPress -boundbound 6 1 2
634 cat V4PinPress/entities.sif
635 ElmerGrid 2 2 V4PinPress -boundbound 7 1 3

Did not succeed !!

!------ Skeleton for body section -----
Body 1
Name = body12
End

!------ Skeleton for boundary section -----
Boundary Condition 1
Name = Pressure
End

Boundary Condition 2
Name = SYM1
End

Boundary Condition 3
Name = SYM2
End

Boundary Condition 4
Name = bnry12
End

=====
mesh.boundary
(563 Bytes) Downloaded 36 times
entities.sif
(278 Bytes) Downloaded 37 times
V4PinPress.unv
(10.83 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

joni
Posts: 21
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 15:05
Antispam: Yes

Re: How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by joni » 06 Mar 2019, 11:00

Trial and error approach by varying ElmeGrid parameter leads
followin relations ship of ElmerGrid arguments,...


Elmergird -boundbound <first boundary id integer a> <second boundary id integer b> <new boundary id>

just this is very cryptic to to understand " Sometimes the geometry does not include all the necessary boundary conditions. Then this inline
parameter may be used to define a new boundary (first parameter) on the interval of two already
existing boundaries. This makes it possible to define lines or even single points in 3D geometry that
has only surfaces defined."

"new boundary (first parameter)" might be better to express like "new boundary (third parameter)" ,
by the way, if documentation is rewritten BNF style data description is best choiche it's easy to
read and understand like :

Elmergird <file type> <file type> <filename> -boundbound <first boundary id integer a> <second boundary id integer b> <new boundary id>

<file type> := 1 , 2,.... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backus%E2%80%93Naur_form


This quite crazy,.... i realy do answer to myself at message board! Could anyone say just say HI to me!
Last edited by joni on 06 Mar 2019, 12:26, edited 1 time in total.

raback
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by raback » 06 Mar 2019, 11:29

Hi

Yes, basically this is how it could work. Not used too much so there could be issued. If you have a problem we could have a look.

Note that when you use the -autoclean flag you enforce all lower dimensional entities be removed. So even if you had them, you loose them. It would probably be easier to try to maintain them.

-Peter

joni
Posts: 21
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 15:05
Antispam: Yes

Re: How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by joni » 06 Mar 2019, 12:43

ok, so by removeing --autoclean I will get Nodes, Lines and Faces imported elmer system !!!

GREAT ! and I do not need extra commands,....

I remember that I can use names defined at Salomè/.unv directly at .sif ,...
elderly people like just can not remeber everything,... or can I just replace
based mesh names numbers BoundaryCondition1 whit word Pressure ??

! ----- names for bodies -----
$ body14 = 14
! ----- names for boundaries -----
$ Pressure = 1
$ SYM1 = 10
$ SYM2 = 11
$ Force = 12
$ PIN = 13
$ bnry14 = 14

joni
Posts: 21
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 15:05
Antispam: Yes

Re: How to define Nodal load at Salomè for elmerfem ?

Post by joni » 26 Mar 2019, 10:38

About autoclean, for some reason if I DO NOT USE it
ElmerSolver dose not accept geometry,...

What could cause that, extra point or line?

Post Reply