Surface as a body in 3D

General discussion about Elmer
adoldesa
Antispam: Yes

Surface as a body in 3D

Post by adoldesa »

Hi all,
I am still a novice in Elmer and FEM in general and I have a fundamental question. I need to simulate current flowing along a surface surrounded by dielectrics (two different fro top and bottom). I need the problem to be in three dimensions since I want to map the electric field in space and calculate the capacitance of the system but my surface has to be 2D. It there a way to do so? Can I use a surface as a body, or shall I make a very thin box to approximate it?

Thanks for your help!
Last edited by adoldesa on 08 Oct 2018, 12:17, edited 1 time in total.
mzenker

Re: Surface as a body in 3D

Post by mzenker »

Hi,

I am not sure to understand correctly. Is your current flowing through the surface, i.e. from dielectric 1 to dielectric 2, or along the surface without flowing through the dielectric? In the latter case, the "surface" would need a finite thickness anyway, wouldn't it?

Matthias
adoldesa

Post by adoldesa »

Sorry, my mistake. The current is flowing along the surface (I amended the original post).
mzenker

Post by mzenker »

Then I would give the surface a thickness, else you would have infinite current density...
mzenker

Post by mzenker »

N.B. It would be practical to be able to use a surface as a body giving it a thickness in the Elmer settings, so that thin layers can be simulated without too much challenge in meshing. AFAIK this is currently only possible in mechanics, not in electric simulations.
adoldesa

Post by adoldesa »

Thanks, I thought so, I will try with a thin layer. However, I know that other FEM software allows to define a surface as a body and therefore give it a different material. Do you know if this is doable in elmer? I use gmsh to define geometry and mesh but I don't know how to define a surface as a separate body.
mzenker

Post by mzenker »