3-D magnetic field simulation produced by metal plate

General discussion about Elmer
markshieh0529
Antispam: Yes

3-D magnetic field simulation produced by metal plate

Post by markshieh0529 »

Hi,

I am pretty new to the Elmer solver, and really need a help for simulating the 3-D magnetic field distribution produced by metal plate. The metal plate is irregularly shaped and has two ends connected to a DC or AC ( up to 1 MHz frequency ) electric source. The simulation I have to work for is the magnetic field distribution which is produced by irregularly current flows on the metal plate.

So, is it possible to use Elmer solver to do this simulation ? If yes, would you please tell me more about it ( very much appreciate if details could be given )? Thank you very much.

Mark
mzenker

Re: 3-D magnetic field simulation produced by metal plate

Post by mzenker »

Hi Mark,

I think this is possible.
To learn more about Elmer, you can visit the documentation page https://www.csc.fi/web/elmer/documentation, where you will find tutorials and manuals describing the different parts of Elmer. The Models Manual is of particular interest as it describes the different available solvers.

HTH,

Matthias
markshieh0529

Post by markshieh0529 »

Hi Matthias,

Thank you very much for your reply. Do you know any more fundamental manual for the connection between mathematical model and Elmer solver setup ( step-by-step description would be preferred )? Thank you very much.

Mark
mzenker

Post by mzenker »

Hi Mark,

why do you need that? Do you want to write your own solver? If you are new to Elmer, it is advisable do some of the tutorials, and to start with the existing solvers, as described in the models manual. For your case, I would try the MagnetoDynamics solver (chapter 14 in the Models manual).
Now for writing your own solver, you can look into the Solver manual and also in the programmer's tutorial: http://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physics ... torial.pdf.

HTH,

Matthias
annier