Solving solid mechanics problems with material plasticity

General discussion about Elmer
kazem

Solving solid mechanics problems with material plasticity

Post by kazem »

Hi,

I'm very new to Elmer (have just installed it). :mrgreen: As I browsed through the documentations I haven't seen anything related to material plasticity. :roll:

Is Elmer capable to handle elasto-plastic materials :?: If not, is it possible to add the required material and solver routines to the Elmer system :?:

Thanks,

Kazem
raback
Site Admin
Antispam: Yes

Re: Solving solid mechanics problems with material plasticity

Post by raback »

Hi Kazem

There is no material law with plasticity. It could of course be implemented but this would mean heavy modification of the existing elasticity solver, or writing a totally new one. As far as I know the current solvers do not have a simple place to plugin the plasticity model. If you know how to implement it we could certainly provide some assistance for a common good.

-Peter
David.stifter

Post by David.stifter »

Hallo Peter,

Does ELMER provide a solver for plasticity already ?
If not, is is planned to be implemented ?
If not planned: do you know a freeware 3D Fem Package that can handle it ?

kind regards,
David.
kevinarden

Post by kevinarden »

Calculix is an excellent open source solver for material plasticity. It uses the ABAQUS input deck format. I wrote a program to convert a Salome unv file into a calculix input file that converts groups to nsets and elsets. nsets and elsets allow you to easily apply boundary conditions and materials.
Calculix comes with its own pre/post processor, CGX
To post process in paraview you have to do this.
https://www.openaircraft.com/calculix-extras/
raback
Site Admin

Post by raback »

Hi

There has been some development. If you have material library in UMAT format of Abaqus it should not be overly complex to have it included as material law in ElasticSolver.

-Peter
kevinarden

Post by kevinarden »

Peter,