Basic questions about workflow, grids, viewing

General discussion about Elmer
bbbeard
Antispam: Yes

Basic questions about workflow, grids, viewing

Post by bbbeard »

Hi, I am still very much a newbie with Elmer, though I have some experience with other FEM solvers. I am using Elmer on a Windows Vista64 Thinkpad T61 platform and am also using it on a Windows 7 Starter(!) netbook platform.

I am confused about some basic concepts.

(1) It seems that only a handful of solvers are exposed in the ElmerGUI Model | Equation... menu. I gather that many more solvers are available because the share/elmersolver/lib directory has a bunch of enticingly named DLLs. I can't find where this is explained but it seems that the ElmerTutorials.pdf file exhibits many of these solvers. The typical chapter in ElmerTutorials.pdf explains the problem, shows the structure of the *.sif file, and then shows the results. Is the basic workflow: (a) find some way to generate a grid (ElmerGrid, Netgen, Tetgen?), (b) Compose a sif file, (c) open Elmergui, (d) load these files, (e) Click the button labeled "S", (f) wait for the Solver to finish, (g) view in ElmerPost or otherwise crunch these results? How does one load a sif file? I see there is a menu item File | Load Mesh... but not a File | Load SIF.

(2) I was able to do some nice simple FEM work using Netgen to create a Delaunay tetra mesh and then ElmerGUI linear elastic solver and then R for the post-processing (I needed to dig a little deeper in the stress distribution than the high-level ElmerPost results). However, whenever the mesh contained more than about half a million elements, Elmer would lock up. But elsewhere I read about Elmer being used for problems with billions of nodes. So what is the direction I should push? Is there a magic setting that allocates more memory for Elmer? Should I try to set up the parallel processing capability?