dividing bodies from multybody mesh

The graphical user interface of Elmer
billa
Antispam: Yes

dividing bodies from multybody mesh

Post by billa »

hello everyone,

I am new to elmer and i have a case where there is a multi body mesh (9 individual bodies) i have created in salome. I import it to ElmerGUI and "divide surface" so as to be able to define seperate BC and materials for each object. however unlike previous study cases that i have tried, ElmerGUI doesnot divide them in only 9 bodies, but into 46 different surfaces.
When i try to select an individual object, only a surface gets selected. when defining equation , i can see there are only 9 objects. However while setting up BC i see 46 different possible boundaries. i can merge the surfaces to create objects but its not a possibility as i plan to investigate more complex multi-body objects which may have upto 50 different objects.
Can someone help me on this?
P.S: I have done partitioning of the geometry prior to meshing and grouping of mesh according to objects in Salome.
kevinarden

Re: dividing bodies from multybody mesh

Post by kevinarden »

If you create groups of volume elements in Salome they become bodies. If you create groups of surface elements in Salome they become boundaries.

If you are working in 2D then groups of faces become bodies and groups of edges become boundaries.

Optionally,
If you don't use groups in salome for boundaries then all boundaries are one and dividing them in GUI depends on the angle boundary set. Once divided into, in your case 46 different surfaces, they can be selectively reemerged into surfaces by selecting and holding the shift key and then use the combine button.
billa

Post by billa »

Hello Kevinarden,
Thanks for your prompt reply!
kevinarden wrote: 13 Feb 2020, 23:10 If you create groups of volume elements in Salome they become bodies. If you create groups of surface elements in Salome they become boundaries.