Pinned Boundary Countour

The graphical user interface of Elmer
Jorge
Antispam: Yes

Pinned Boundary Countour

Post by Jorge »

First of all I would like to congratulate you for the wonderful software that is elmerfem

I would like to do the exempel 3 of tutorialGUI but changing the cantilever beam model to the beam supported at the ends, allowing rotation in the plane of the beam. But among the documentation I can't find the parameter for it.

Model
BoundaryCondition
Name = Pinned
Linear elasticity
Displacement 1 = 0.0
Displacement 2 = 0.0
Displacement 3 = 0.0

Would i add something like it

Model
BoundaryCondition
Name = Pinned
Linear elasticity
Displacement 1 = 0.0
Displacement 2 = 0.0
Displacement 3 = 0.0
Rotation 1= 0.0
Rotation 2= 0.0
Rotation 3= Logical True

I am new with elmer (i began with elmer 3 days ago looking into documentation atm)
Regards.
raback
Site Admin

Re: Pinned Boundary Countour

Post by raback »

Hi Jorge

There is a rather recent "TimoschenkoSolver" for "One-dimensional Equations for Elastic Beams", see Ch. 10 in current version of Elmer Models Manual.

There are also two consistency tests for the beam solver names Beam_3D_Cantilevel*.

Now the bad thing is that there are no XML files that make the menu structure for ElmerGUI. Usually this would not be too difficult to write but ElmerGUI comes with the limitation that it is designed to treat only 2D and 3D objects. Hence it is not possible to accomodate the 1D beam solver with that. Note that the reference 3D in the beam just means that the coordinates that define the beam may be set in 3D coordinates while the beam itself is still 1D object.

-Peter
Jorge

Post by Jorge »

Thank you Peter for the execelent explication.