how to add impulses in Elmer

The graphical user interface of Elmer
Post Reply
chen junnan
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 May 2019, 08:44
Antispam: Yes

how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by chen junnan » 19 May 2019, 09:03

Hello.I want to use the ELMER to do the fsi about the artery.

Now I have mode a simple model for it and completed the simulation.

I uploaded the sif file.

The next step I want to add the impulses into the input flow.

Could you give me an advice?

Thanks in advance
Attachments
case.sif
(3.51 KiB) Downloaded 31 times

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by kevinarden » 20 May 2019, 22:20

You can use MATC to input as a function of time or use tables, see the MATC manual

Velocity = Variable Time
Real MATC "if (tx <= .01) (tx/.01)*200.E6; if (tx > .01) 0.0"

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by kevinarden » 21 May 2019, 13:27

Tables and Arrays
Tables (piecewise linear
or cubic):
Arrays:

Velocity = Variable Time
Real cubic
0 0
.1 1
.2 0
.3 1
.4 0
.5 1
End

chen junnan
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 May 2019, 08:44
Antispam: Yes

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by chen junnan » 27 May 2019, 11:15

Hello kevinarden.Many thanks.

I followed your advice to input the impulses in Elmer.
But it does not work.If there something wrong in my operation?
I only use the Navier-Stokes and Nonlinear-Elasticty solutions for Fsi.
Do I need to add Mesh updates solution?

Could you please explain it more specifically.

Many Thanks.

chen

raback
Site Admin
Posts: 3463
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by raback » 27 May 2019, 15:48

Hi chen,

Why don't you look at test case "ArteryOutlet" under $ELMERSRC/fem/test. It comes with
  • coupled fluid-structure & mesh update
  • 1D non-reflective outlet model with on-the-fly defined mesh
  • pulse defined in an UDF function
To have all these defined in the GUI is not currently practical as there are some rare solvers that do not have menu stuctures defined (like the ArteryOutlet solver).

-Peter

chen junnan
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 May 2019, 08:44
Antispam: Yes

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by chen junnan » 28 May 2019, 09:37

Hello peter,

I find the test case that you reminded.
But I do not konw how to use it.Is there some instructions about it ?

Thank you.

-chen

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by kevinarden » 28 May 2019, 11:55

read the runtest.cmake file the mesh is made by

ElmerGrid 1 2 contra.grd

then run the problem with the case.sif using

ElmerSolver

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: how to add impulses in Elmer

Post by kevinarden » 28 May 2019, 12:29

chen junnan wrote:
27 May 2019, 11:15
Hello kevinarden.Many thanks.

I followed your advice to input the impulses in Elmer.
But it does not work.If there something wrong in my operation?
I only use the Navier-Stokes and Nonlinear-Elasticty solutions for Fsi.
Do I need to add Mesh updates solution?

Could you please explain it more specifically.

Many Thanks.

chen
You would have to describe how it doesn't work or post both the sif and mesh file and i can test it.

Post Reply