Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

The graphical user interface of Elmer
sjfranbo
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Nov 2012, 06:11
Antispam: Yes

Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by sjfranbo » 20 Nov 2012, 20:29

Dear Elmer friends,
I am new to Elmer, I want to export the meshes I created with ANSYS 13 to Elmer,
I have downloaded the two macro files and start-up file in the Elmer webpage.
However, I can't get it work.
Could you give me more detailed instructions?
For example, where should I put these files and how to add the macros into ANSYS control panel?
Thanks!

raback
Site Admin
Posts: 3697
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by raback » 20 Nov 2012, 21:47

Hi

I don't know whether these macros have been much used lately. They were created certainly with much an older version. Even then it was not bullet-proof. Personally I don't use Ansys so I can't help you with the use. However, perhaps there would be a better alternative. Could you list all formats in what the meshes are available to be exported. If FDNEUT (from the old Fidap) is available that could be a possible choice.

-Peter

sjfranbo
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Nov 2012, 06:11
Antispam: Yes

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by sjfranbo » 21 Nov 2012, 00:17

Hi Peter,

Thanks a lot for your reply!
I think I fixed the problem and have added the macros.
However, I can't open the ElmerGrid program to convert the files to Elmer format ,every time I open it, it just automatically closed.
Do you know I am doing wrong? I just tried to open the ElmerGrid.exe file but it didn't work.
Thanks again!

raback
Site Admin
Posts: 3697
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by raback » 21 Nov 2012, 01:02

Hi, ElmerGrid is a command line tool. If you work in Windows use the command prompt. -Peter

sjfranbo
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Nov 2012, 06:11
Antispam: Yes

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by sjfranbo » 21 Nov 2012, 01:59

Hi Peter,
I am using the ElmerGrid now.
Thank you so much!

RFF
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 21:57
Antispam: Yes

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by RFF » 11 Dec 2013, 01:55

Dear colleagues, my problem is as follows.
I have a model, which is created in ANSYS (v 14.5.7 – in this release some bugs is fixed, so I can’t use earlier versions).
Analysis – static structural (mechanical).
System (ANSYS) – Win7 x64.
Elmer is installed on WIN7 x32. So goal is to convert model from ANSYS to Elmer.

I’ll appreciate if anybody advise me, how to import model to ELMER in my case.
TIA.

Coco
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Apr 2015, 09:01
Antispam: Yes

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by Coco » 17 Apr 2015, 15:29

Hi,
where can I find the two macro files and start-up file?
Could you give me a URL?
Thanks
Coco

annier
Posts: 1137
Joined: 27 Aug 2013, 13:51
Antispam: Yes

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by annier » 17 Apr 2015, 15:45

Hi Coco,
If you have the ANSYS output file as .ansys, then the following command can convert ansys format into ElmerSolver format.
In Windows:

Code: Select all

>ElmerGrid 4 2 filename.ansys -autoclean
In linux:

Code: Select all

$ElmerGrid 4 2 filename.ansys -autoclean
where,
4 refers to .ansys file format
2 refers to .mesh.* (Elmer format)

For details, please refer Chapter 1 of ElmerGrid Manual.

Yours
Anil Kunwar
Anil Kunwar
Department of Materials Engineering, KU Leuven, Belgium

Coco
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Apr 2015, 09:01
Antispam: Yes

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by Coco » 17 Apr 2015, 18:09

Hi Anil,
I have another question about ABAQUS meshes.
I want to transform .inp or .fil to .grd or .mesh.
I use the command line like
ElmerGrid 5 1 test
Sometimes it works.
Sometimes it doesn't work.
I think the inp includes some code which ElmerGrid could not read.
So could you provide some documentation for transforming .inp to .grd?
Sometimes ElmerGrid will crash when transforming.
I think the reason is that the file being transformed is too big.Is it right?
Thanks,
Coco

raback
Site Admin
Posts: 3697
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: Help needed to export ANSYS meshes to Elmer

Post by raback » 17 Apr 2015, 18:40

Hi Coco,

Output format 1 should not work. Format 2 (and 3, 4) have basically potential to work with this input.

Now the problem is that the parser has been written for just some files written by ideas and it understands only a fraction of the commands. It should be enhanced.

Providing minimalic cases that do not (and maybe a pictuture of the mesh) work is a good starting point for improving the cede. The developer team does not use Ansys nor Abaqus.

-Peter

Post Reply