SaveLine not working from ElmerGui 8

The graphical user interface of Elmer
Post Reply
GregD
Posts: 10
Joined: 28 May 2014, 01:58
Antispam: Yes

SaveLine not working from ElmerGui 8

Post by GregD »

When I use the SaveLine model from ElmerGui (Elmer 8.0 Release) for my axisymmetric model it generates in the .sil file the line

Code: Select all

Polyline Coordinates = 0.08 0.0 0.08 1.0
While this results in the expected output in the saveline.names file no intersections are found and no data is written to the saveline file.

If I make a small modification to this line

Code: Select all

Polyline Coordinates(2,2) = 0.08 0.0 0.08 1.0
everything works as expected.


The other issue I have with SaveLine (for my transient model) is that the generated data references only time step but not time.
GregD
Posts: 10
Joined: 28 May 2014, 01:58
Antispam: Yes

Re: SaveLine not working from ElmerGui 8

Post by GregD »

One work-around is to edit the edf/saveline.xml file and explicitly add the array dimensionality to the Polyline coordinates element:

Code: Select all

        <Parameter Widget="Edit" >
            <Name> Polyline Coordinates(2,2) </Name>
            <Type> Real </Type>
            <Whatis> Save data on the line segments defined by two coordinate points. </Whatis>
         </Parameter>
It would be more general/useable albeit less user friendly solution to simply have a free text input field.
raback
Site Admin
Posts: 4823
Joined: 22 Aug 2009, 11:57
Antispam: Yes
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: SaveLine not working from ElmerGui 8

Post by raback »

Hi

You could also try the syntax

Code: Select all

    Polyline Coordinates = Size 2 2; 0.08 0.0 0.08 1.0
which has the advantage of being compatible with the current ElmerGUI logic.

-Peter
GregD
Posts: 10
Joined: 28 May 2014, 01:58
Antispam: Yes

Re: SaveLine not working from ElmerGui 8

Post by GregD »

Thanks. Much better solution.
Post Reply