Simulation of the force between two magnets

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
JanHoek
Antispam: Yes

Simulation of the force between two magnets

Post by JanHoek »

Hi everyone,

I am new to Elmer, so it could well be possible that I am using the wrong method to model this. Anyway, I am trying to determine the total attractive magnetic force between two identical cylindrical magnets. Both magnets have an equal but opposite magnetization of 8e7 in the x-axis. The magnets are surrounded by a large rectangle of air. Here is the .sif file, bodies 1 and 2 are magnets, body 3 is the rectangle of air:
case.sif
(3.72 KiB) Downloaded 363 times
The mesh file is too large to attach, so here is the .geo file that I meshed with NetGen:
TwoMagnetsSimple.geo
(526 Bytes) Downloaded 343 times
I am not quite sure how to extract the total magnetic force between the two magnets from this simulation. The nodal forces on the magnets seem to be too high and the magnetic forces seem to be too low (based on the comparison with the results from the analytical solution). Also, when I plot the magnetic field in Paraview, the result is a bit different than expected, which could also indicate that something goes wrong with the model I use for these calculations:
Magneticfield_twomagnets.PNG
Magneticfield_twomagnets.PNG (437.29 KiB) Viewed 6050 times
Thank you in advance!
mika

Re: Simulation of the force between two magnets

Post by mika »

Hi,

In the sif file the magnetization vectors seem to have the same sign. Should we change one sign to be consistent with your description of the problem? The magnitude of the magnetization vector is 8e5 in the sif, while 8e7 in the message?

-- Mika
kevinarden

Post by kevinarden »

This is my approach in 2D
results.png
(275.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Impact of mesh size on results
MagField.png
(275.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
force.sif
(2.92 KiB) Downloaded 375 times
not sure how to sum the nodal force over the left and right body
JanHoek