Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
LowLow
Antispam: Yes

Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Post by LowLow »

Hello,
I am new in Elmer and I am struggling with ElmerSolver (I generate the mesh with gmsh).
I try to get a electric potential for the following configuration:
- a cathode at a given potential CATHODE_V=-300 V
- an anode at a given potential ANODE_V= +800V
- an in-between electrode (copper wires) at a potential MESH_V=-150 V. The in-between electrode has the particularity to be a set of intersecting wires (see paraview screenshot visu).
- a gas in the volume space

I was expected to get an almost constant potential at the Z-coordinate of this electrode, which is not the case accordingly to the result (see paraview screenshot in attached file). The solver does not seem to ensure the continuity between the electrode boundary condition and the space volume: there is a linear decrease between the cathode and the anode. ElmerSolver seems to not take into account the electrode boundary condition to calculate the potential in the gas volume.

I put my .sif file in the attachment. Firstly I tried just using the "StatElecSolver" and since it doesn't work, secondly I tried to couple it with "StatCurrentSolver" as it is advised in another post, but this configuration makes the program crashes (this is the commented configuration in my .sif file).
The boundary conditions that I have set aim to reproduce this potential field infinitely.

Please, if someone has any idea what I am doing wrong? It must be silly but I can't figure it out...
Thanks in advance!
Attachments
In between electrode visualization
In between electrode visualization
potentialConfig_inBetweenElectrode.png (17.7 KiB) Viewed 4333 times
result_potential_config_problem
result_potential_config_problem
potentialConfig.png (8.87 KiB) Viewed 4333 times
inputElmerSolver.sif
sif file
(4.44 KiB) Downloaded 248 times
mzenker

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires