Acoustics – Basic Postprocessing With ElmerSolver & Paraview

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
Z.Losonc
Antispam: Yes

Acoustics – Basic Postprocessing With ElmerSolver & Paraview

Post by Z.Losonc »

The “Simple Pipe Acoustics” project posted by JoeD motivated me to try using Elmer for acoustic simulations. I have never used Elemer before, so please be patient with me. It would be really great if we could create a collection of sorely needed acoustics tutorials that drill down to the nitty-gritty in a way that beginners could also understand.

I will use a modified version of Joe’s project here, which simulates “the sound propagation within a 1 m long pipe of 0.1 m diameter filled with air, having acoustically hard walls. The input and output openings are matched boundaries to avoid reflections. At the input we have an incident plane wave of p0=100 Pa amplitude.” The process of setting up the simulation is not a trivial task for beginners, and it will need to be described at some point, but let’s focus first on solving a few problems.
tube_p1_mesh.png
tube_p1_mesh.png (52.31 KiB) Viewed 8696 times
The output of the solver is a complex pressure field of which the real part is named “Pressure Wave 1” and the imaginary part is “Pressure Wave 2”. With this we can create nice color images in Paraview and also see the pressure values at any point, but for most practical purposes this is not enough. In most cases we want to know the absolute pressure field, particle velocity field, the radiation intensity field, the power radiated through a surface, the reflected wave amplitude/intensity, SPL field, the far field radiation pattern etc. and also to create some animations. Let’s perform some post processing here, and calculate at least some of the mentioned variables.