Simple Pipe Acoustics - the very basics

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
JoeD
Antispam: Yes

Simple Pipe Acoustics - the very basics

Post by JoeD »

Dear Elmer Community,

First of all thanks to all who have created, published, and support this software. It has got an unbeatable advantage, which is being open source; special thanks for that.

I am a beginner Elmer user and have some newbie questions, first relating to acoustics. I hope that this thread will also help other newbies later to get up to speed, and figure things out.

The presented test case attempts to simulate the sound propagation within a 1 m long pipe of 0.1 m diameter filled with air, having acoustically hard walls. The input and output openings are matched boundaries to avoid reflections. At the input we have an incident plane wave of p0=100 Pa amplitude.

I have tried several combinations of boundary conditions, but don’t seem to be able to get the expected results (which comes forth with no headache in Comsol). The closest solution to the expected is obtained when the input is defined using the effective value of the pressure peff=70.71 as:
pressure Wave 1 (real part): 70.71068
pressure Wave 2 (imag part): 0

and the output impedance to be identical with the speed of sound c as:
real part of impedance: 343
imag part of impedance: 0

With such setup we get the complex pressure amplitude results:
p1_0=70.71
p2_0=70.6308

The instantaneous pressure is calculated according to formula (9.3) in the ElemerModelsManual.pdf:
p=p1_0*cos(om*t)-p2_0*sin(om*t).

When this result is plotted in excel, the p0 amplitude within the pipe is indeed 100 Pa as expected, but its phase is shifted by 45 degrees compared to the input pin=100*cos(om*t).