BC as function of two different boundaries

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
elmeRocks
Antispam: Yes

BC as function of two different boundaries

Post by elmeRocks »

First of all I want to thank you, this is a great piece of software and the community is very active. :)

I'm new to Elmer and I'm trying to model a permeation membrane, I've attached the case. The top part of the mesh has an air inlet and two outlets on the sides; the bottom part is the same, but with a different gas and a different oxygen concentration. I was trying to model the oxygen flow across the membrane (that is on surface 7, while 5 and 6 are porous materials, 3 and 4 just walls) using a custom equation that I have. I'm not insterested in computing the flow in the membrane surface, I could treat it as a wall, I just need to introduce this equation as boundary condition for the concentration flux (I guess) in adv-diff equation so that Elmer knows that there's something going out on one side and entering the other. The problem is that the equation for the flux is defined with the partial pressure difference between the two sides of the membrane; I read how to define a BC using the local conditions, but how do I specify a BC on a boundary requiring also the partial pressure computed on the other boundary?

I hope you understood the problem, otherwise feel free to ask anything and I'll reply as soon as possible.

By the way, you'll notice that I also have some problems with the pressure and concentration fields, while the velocity field looks ok. I'm new to Elmer as I told you so I'm probably doing a lot of things wrong :)
If you have any other suggestion on how I could do this, please let me know. Thanks! :D
Attachments
planar.zip
(772.21 KiB) Downloaded 249 times
elmeRocks

Re: BC as function of two different boundaries

Post by elmeRocks »