Extract simulations results at specific points

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
Flaj
Antispam: Yes

Extract simulations results at specific points

Post by Flaj »

Hi,

I am relatively new to Elmer and I am trying to export the results of my simulations. I did not find much information on this in Elmer's available documentation (at least what I have). I've been trying to find an answer in other posts, but I only got fragments of information.

I simulate the diffusion of ions (my variable of interest is the concentration) within a structure and I do fine with exporting images and making videos with ElmerPost but I would also like to save the evolution of the concentration through time at maybe 2 or 3 points of interest (I have a total of 1875 nodes in my model). I want to import and visualize my data in MATLAB. Up to now I tried two methods:
1- I created an output ascii file by typing Output File = "OUTPUT.ascii" in the Simulation section of the .sif file. Of course the size of the file is monstruous. I can open it in a text editor, but what I get is a bit messy altough it appears to be correct. Here are the first lines:

Code: Select all

ASCII 1
!File started at: 2012/03/13 14:00:06
 Degrees of freedom: 
 concentration           1  :fs
 Total DOFs:            1
 Number Of Nodes:         1875
Time:       1      1  1.00000000E-001
concentration
Perm:         1875         1875
          1       1875
          2       1874
          3       1871
          4       1866

I understand that in the right-column are indicated the node index. Later on I have a vector of concentrations probably giving the concentration at each node for each time step. I don't know how to extract what I want. How can I select the data for a single node, and actually to what physical coordinate does each node correspond?