Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Postby LowLow » 17 Jan 2018, 19:55

You will find the .geo files in attached file. You should launch the file main.geo to generate the mesh.
Note that I generate the mesh with the following option: gmsh main.geo -3 -order 2 and that I use ElmerGrid with the -autoclean option.
Thank you very much Matthias for your help!

Loïc
Attachments
test.zip
(160 Bytes) Downloaded 20 times
LowLow
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Jan 2018, 20:16

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Postby mzenker » 17 Jan 2018, 20:10

There is no file in test.zip...
mzenker
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 11:49
Location: Germany

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Postby LowLow » 17 Jan 2018, 21:53

Sorry for that...
Attachments
test.tar
(40 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
LowLow
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Jan 2018, 20:16

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Postby mzenker » 18 Jan 2018, 17:09

Hi Loic,

I think I know what your problem is: your two bodies and also their meshes are separated and superposed, there is no connection between them. So the Electrostatic solver does not see the wire, and the StaticCurrent solver does not see cathode and anode. You have to modify your geometry so that there is an interface between the two bodies where the mesh is conformal, i.e. the nodes are the same. This should be possible in gmsh since version 3 using the boolean functions, but I have never done it. You will find help in their documentation and on the gmsh mailing list. Before the meshing, your bodies have to share a common interface (mesh_surface in your geometry).
If gmsh cannot do it, you can use Salomé. There you have to make a partition and then mesh.
I think having done that you will get the results you expect.

HTH,

Matthias
mzenker
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 11:49
Location: Germany

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Postby LowLow » 18 Jan 2018, 19:58

Hi Matthias,
Thank you very much! I am going to look at your solution.
Thanks for your help,

Loïc
LowLow
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Jan 2018, 20:16

Re: Electrostatic: mesh with wires

Postby phb » 14 Feb 2018, 13:49

Hi,

I just ran into a similar problem. All volumes where solved independently without sharing boudary conditions. I fixed it by calling
Code: Select all
v[] = BooleanFragments{ Volume{ex1[1]}; }{ Volume{ex2[1],ex3[1],ex4[1]}; };

from the openCASCADE kernel, where ex1 is the gas volume (without cut-outs) and ex{2..4}[1] are volumes that are placed inside the gas (i.e. cathode, anode, field strips)

Cheers
phb
phb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Feb 2018, 13:01

Previous

Return to ElmerSolver

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest