Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Discussion about building and installing Elmer
sameer21101970
Posts: 27
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 08:14
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by sameer21101970 » 27 Aug 2019, 12:26

i am difficulty in locating vtu binary file after i RunElmer Solver, solver shows case.vtu...but can't find where it is getting store & same i need for paraview ( win 10 )

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by kevinarden » 27 Aug 2019, 12:55

It is usually in the same folder as the mesh files

sameer21101970
Posts: 27
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 08:14
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by sameer21101970 » 28 Aug 2019, 08:26

Ok Thanks . Now getting stabilise with operating Elmer.

In Elmer, Force1, 2, 3 is define is Pressure Terms on Surface.
But if I want to apply Load at specific Point, How can i define in Elmer SIF.
Eg. 1 meter length Rod, both end fixed , want to apply load at Middle 0.5mtr.

Can you please guide.

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by kevinarden » 28 Aug 2019, 11:18

You should read the elmer solver manual and the elmer models manual
http://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physics/elmer/doc/

Use Target Node to apply to a node, or target coordinates to apply to a position

Page 46 Solver Manual
Boundary Condition bc id
Target Boundaries(n) Integer
The set of boundaries on which the Dirichlet conditions will be applied.

Target Nodes(n) Integer
Sets pointwise conditions on-the-fly. These points are referred via the absolute indexing of the
nodes.

Target Coordinates(n,DIM) Real
Sets pointwise conditions via transforming the coordinate values into nodal indeces corresponding to the nearest nodes at the time of the first call. Target groups defined by Target Boundaries,
Target Nodes, and Target Coordinates should not reside in the same boundary condition definition

sameer21101970
Posts: 27
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 08:14
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by sameer21101970 » 28 Aug 2019, 16:55

I have read the same, but don't know how to define in Elmer GUI Boundary Condition.

1mtr. long 50 mm rod, loading in middle at 0.5mtr. length.

Using Gmsh for .msh file generation,

Kindly reply

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by kevinarden » 28 Aug 2019, 17:18

ElmerGUI does not directly support target nodes or target dimension. You can edit the sif file or use the free text input at the bottom of the GUI window for boundary condition

sameer21101970
Posts: 27
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 08:14
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by sameer21101970 » 28 Aug 2019, 19:12

you mean to say, i have to manually modify .sif file

will you please give me command line how to write in .sif

i m very new to elmer

thankyou in advance

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by kevinarden » 28 Aug 2019, 21:01

Before running in ElmerGUI you can go to the sif menu option and select edit. You can then modify the options in the sif file prior to running.

You can learn about the sif file here

http://www.nic.funet.fi/index/elmer/cou ... rInput.pdf

sameer21101970
Posts: 27
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 08:14
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by sameer21101970 » 29 Aug 2019, 09:12

I know how to edit sif.

I want command lines to be written in .sif...so that the position / point of load gets define.

kevinarden
Posts: 253
Joined: 25 Jan 2019, 01:28
Antispam: Yes

Re: Elmer Install on Windows 10 not working

Post by kevinarden » 29 Aug 2019, 11:47

case.sif
(2.26 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

Post Reply