Fiber impregnation simulation

Elmer cases by the users for the users
carbon91
Antispam: Yes

Fiber impregnation simulation

Post by carbon91 »

Hello Community,

my name is Matthias and I am currently studying in the third year Aeronautical and Mechanical Engineering. My final year project is about a development of a suitable impregnation unit to impregnate endless carbon fibers, respectively rovings (fibrous material).
The roving runs through a sinusoidal curve (impregnation cavity). By applying a tension on this roving, three different pressure zones will be created at the radii. Below the roving will be resin injected which will be pressed through the roving by the three different pressure zones.
I attached a picture of the principle impregnation process to better understand my problem.

I am still looking for an adequate simulation of the impregnation process. I would like to know the percentage of resin (fluid) in the fibrous material after the impregnation process, if the resin is completely absorbed by the resin and the tension which is increased by the roving which is sometimes in contact with the cavity wall.
Is it possible to get the information with Elmer?
I hope you guys can help me.

Best Regards

Matthias
Attachments
Impregnation sample (Miaris, 2012)
Impregnation sample (Miaris, 2012)
impregnation cavity.PNG (94.94 KiB) Viewed 7343 times
raback
Site Admin

Re: Fiber impregnation simulation

Post by raback »

Hi Matthias,

I appreciate the thorough introduction. This is a tough problem. Has this been modeled before in literature?

I presume you would need 3D contact model + some way to deal with resin fluid. Do I understand correctly that the resin fluid may and may not be between the rowing and resin film. This would make it a little bit similar as the EHDL lubrication models. Would you model the resin as a thin film or real 3D Navier-Stokes flow problem? Is there also air or some other fluid making it a multiphase problem?